facebook twitter youtube tumblr vimeo instagram










HRIFF 2017: February 16th - 28th



Festival Photographs


Red Carpet



HRIFF Honors Cinema Icons

Hollywood Reel Independent Film Festival programming includes tributes to Gene Wilder, Dusan Makavejev, John Cassavetes, with memorial events honoring the cinematic work of Haskell Wexler, and the film performances of David Bowie. With more celebrity event screenings to be announced, including astonishing new work from: James Franco, Guy Pierce, Harry Dean Stanton, Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Mercedes Ruehl,

Ian McShane, Bruce Davison. Billy Zane, Joe Lo Truglio, Blake Anderson, Glenn Morshower, Timothy Busfield, Edward James Olmos, Sandra Oh, Henry Jaglom, Lawrence Gilliard Jr. Eileen Davidson, David Labrava, Susan Blakely, Penn Badgley, James Deen, Eric Roberts, Beth Dover, Annie Potts, Barbara Bain, Richard Hatch, Corbin Timbrook, Brett Rickety, Barry Bostwick, Daniel Baldwin, Dean Cameron, Ian Buchanan, Kyle David Crosby, and Howard Hesseman, casting director Bonnie Timmermann, Sue Keeton, and author Salman Rushdie.


HRIFF Award of Excellence past recipients include: Vanessa Redgrave, Peter O'Toole, Gerard Depardieu, Alejandro Jodoworsky, Frances Fisher, Don Hertzfeldt, Robert Drew, Franco Nero, Hugo Niebeling, Tinto Brass, Ruben Ostlund, Gary Cole, Pamela Adlon, Grace Zabriskie, Joe Mantegna, Robin Williams and this years special guest Harry Dean Stanton. Who will be awarded at this years Award Ceremony?


HRIFF alumni include: Ron Howard, Werner Herzog, Michael Apted, Errol Morris, Elliott Gould, Bryce Dallas Howard, Zack Braff, Terri Polo, Jonathan Pryce, Lisa Kudrow, Janeane Garofalo, P.J. Harvey, Jason Alexander, Colm Meaney, Fred Willard, David Cross, Mischa Barton, Tony Hale, John G. Avildsen, Doug Jones, Richard Lewis, David Arquette, Paul Donovan, George Takei, Carla Gallo, C. Thomas Howell, Bai Ling, Tim Bagley, James Duval, Sean Austin, Ray Wise, Kelly Preston, Nancy Travis, Perrey Reeves, Ed Begley Jr, Henry Winkler, Jane Kaczmarek, Yeardley Smith, Daryl Hannah, Jeremy Sisto, Dominique Swain, and Paul Rudd.

HRIFF Guests: Award Winning Filmmakers and Movie Stars

(c) Shawn Chervack

HRIFF Guests include: Hilary Duff (Younger, Lizzie McGuire), Joe Mantegna (Godfather, Criminal Minds), Josh Brener (Big Bang Theory / Maron), Danny Masterson (That 70's Show), Gary Cole ( Pineapple Express), Grace Zabriskie (Twin Peaks), Frances Fisher (Titanic), Dominique Swain (Lolita, Face/Off), Jon Polito (Big Lebowski), Kurt Fuller (Midnight In Paris), John Heard (Home Alone), Rick Shapiro (The League, Maron), Uwe Boll (Postal), John Robinson (Lords of Dogtown), David O'Hara (Luther), Alan Howarth (Halloween), Martin Starr (Silicon Valley) and Laura Prepon (Orange Is The New Black).


(c) Shawn Chervack

Also in attendance: Lee Meriwether (Batman), Linda Bloodworth­-Thomason (Designing Women), Haylie Duff (Napoleon Dynamite), Duane Peters, Lloyd Kaufman (Troma Films), Dee Wallace (E.T.), Danny Strong (Mad Men), John DeLancie (Breaking Bad), Robert Picardo (Star Trek), Michael Pare (Virgin Suicides), Mackenzie Philips (One Day At A Time), Christopher Masterson (Malcolm In The Middle), Winnie Holzman (My So­Called Life), Richard Hatch (Battlestar Galactica), Keith Carradine (Dexter), Michael Bowen (Kill Bill), Steven Bauer (Breaking Bad), Anthony Geary (General Hospital), and Dominic Purcell (Prison Break).

Festival Images

Red Carpet


Awards Ceremony

HRIFF at LA LIVE / Staples Center

(c) Shawn Chervack

Growing to prominence at Quentin Tarantino's New Beverly Cinema, HRIFF is proud to now also screen at LA LIVE / Staples Center; the largest, most prestigious festival venue in Hollywood (the Times Square of L.A.), as well as at historic cinemas across Los Angeles. Helping make HRIFF the easy festival choice for Distributors, Financiers, Producers, Studio Executives, Agents, Casting Directors, Hollywood Celebrities, and millions of Los Angeles film lovers.

HRIFF Emerging Talent Discoveries

(c) Shawn Chervack

Alanna Masterson (HRIFF ’10 Best Actress now starring in The Walking Dead), Toby Hemingway (Black Swan), Tyler Blackburn (Ravenswood / Pretty little Liars), Steve Hicks, Sean Brosnan, Alex Meraz (Twilight), Dean West (The Ledge), and Keir Gilchrist (It Follows / United States of Tara), all followed early premieres at HRIFF with future success. Hollywood Reel Independent Film Festival is the place to find upcoming the cinema superstars of tomorrow.


Coming Soon

Academy Awards© and Acclaim for HRIFF Films

(c) Shawn Chervack

Many HRIFF discoveries go on to wide distribution and acclaim: including Academy Awards© for "The Lady in Number 6" the animated "Mr. Hublot", as well as Oscar© nominations for the films of Bill Plympton, and HRIFF Best Picture Winners for three straight years: 2014 HRIFF Best Picture Winner "The Act of Killing", HRIFF 2015 Best Picture Winner "Force Majeure", and HRIFF 2016 Best Picture Winner "Trumbo" all received Oscar© attention.

Recent HRIFF discoveries to receive acclaim and distribution are: "The Act of Killing", ''Anomalisa", "Force Majeure", "Drift", "The Look of Silence", "Bridegroom", "A Day At The Pool", "Mr. Hublot", "The Lady In Number 6", "Assault on Wall Street: Bailout", "City of Gardens", "7 Years Underground", "Sex, Violence and Family Values", "Forget Me Not", "Henri", "Bible Storyland", "The Silent Thief" and many more.